Cooking Adventures

Plans for Thanksgiving 2015

I finally have the menu for Thanksgiving this year done. Most of the recipes are from Clean Eating magazine. I will make minor variations to those recipes. Number one using a “non-clean” premade crust. Also, I am just going to use regular sugar or agave instead of any specialty sweeteners I don’t have in my pantry. I am using my Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook for the Turkey and the Sour Cream Rolls. If you can only have one cookbook it has to be the Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook. Everything I make from the book is delicious and turns out well unless I make a mistake. It is fool-proof.

I still need to find the endive and figs. Hopefully, Harris Teeter will have them otherwise I will need to drive out to Wegman’s. I am doing most of the prep work earlier in the week. Many of the recipes will be halved for our small family. It seems odd to not have my sweet potatoes but I need to watch my weight and I’m the only one who eats them. They are like candy to me and way too many calories so I’ll skip them this year.  Yes, I know I have two desserts on the menu. I don’t like apple desserts, though. I just wanted to try out the recipe. I don’t even like Thanksgiving. I just like the cooking and making the special dishes.

In the afternoon, we are going to the National Harbor to see ICE! featuring Santa Claus is coming to town. The kids go with dad to see it every year. This year I got a ticket for me. I have mixed feelings about it. After ICE!, we will look at the lights and “snow” at Gaylord National. Lastly, I am doing most of my shopping online, but I will need to go to CVS sometime Thursday for their deals.

Thanksgiving Menu

Endive Bites with Goat Cheese, Figs and Honey

Herb Roasted Turkey

Whole Wheat Dressing with Wild Rice

Lemon Cranberry Sauce

Maple Glazed Carrots

Green Beans Amandine

Sour Cream Rolls

Sparkling Cider

Creamy Pumpkin Coconut Pie

Individual Apple and Pecan Crumbles

Vanilla Ice Cream or Whipped Cream to top desserts
Leave a Reply

