Cooking Adventures

Cran-Cherry Crumble Pie

I need to go grocery shopping so today is clean out the refrigerator day. The first thing I saw was a container of homemade cranberry sauce leftover from Thanksgiving (which happens to be very good). Off I went to Allrecipes to find a recipe using cranberry sauce. Since I had one pie crust left in the refrigerator, I decided to make Cranberry Cherry Pie. As I only had one pie crust, I needed to make a crumble-top pie instead. I looked in the pie section of my Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook  and used one of the crumble toppings they had. The recipe I borrowed the crumble topping from is Cran-Apple Pie. For this pie, they used fresh cranberries. I so happened to have slightly over a half cup of fresh cranberries left over from when I made the cranberry sauce for Thanksgiving. Anyway, after all the combinations and substitutions this is the recipe I came up with:

Cran-Cherry Crumble Pie

Cran-Cherry Crumble Pie

Serves 8

Ingredients

  • 1 premade pie crust (homemade or store bought)
  • 1 (21-ounce) can cherry pie filling
  • 2 cups whole cranberry sauce
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

For the crumble

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Dash of ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. Line a 9″ pie plate with pie crust.
  3. Combine cherry pie filling, cranberry sauce, cranberries, cornstarch and ginger.
  4. Spoon filling into pie crust.
  5. Combine flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg.
  6. Cut butter into mixture using  a pastry blender until mixture is crumbly.
  7. Stir walnuts into flour mixture.
  8. Sprinkle mixture over pie filling.
  9. Bake at 375°F for 45 minutes.
  10. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Easy-peasy!! It is really delicious. As you can see from the photo, the slice lost its shape because the filling ran out. That always happens to me when I make fruit pies. Does it need more cornstarch? Never mind, I went in the kitchen and it’s fine now. I just was impatient and cut it too early. Who cares about a pretty looking piece of pie anyway. I was too good to wait.

The only thing I would add to this is some orange zest or extract. Just to add another dimension and zing it up a bit.

It’s only 1:00 in the afternoon and I think I want another slice. I should probably save some for the rest of the family, though. I did have only one piece though… so far.

Leave a Reply

