Cooking Adventures

Pantry Dinner – Carrot Leek Soup and Cardamom Bread

I have an opened jar of applesauce I need to use. I decided to make muffins or quick bread. I haven’t found a recipe I want to use yet. I also might make dog treats. I did find a recipe for Bread Machine Cardamom Bread that has applesauce as an ingredient. One of the reviewers mentioned it goes great with carrot and leek soup. I did a search and decided to try out this recipe: Creamy Potato, Carrot, and Leek Soup. I actually had all the ingredients! Well, I only had 3 cups vegetable stock but I had enough veggie scraps in the freezer to make some more so that is what I did.

PotatoCarrotLeekSoup-BreadmakerCardamomBread.jpg

The bread is awesome! I am definitely going to make it again and often. Follow the reviewers advice to decrease the flour to 2 1/2 cups and up the cardamom to 1/2 tablespoon.

The soup is good and filling. I should have only made half the recipe as I was the only one who ate it. I don’t know why I bother making dinner, but that’s another story. I need to find someone to take meals to so I don’t have to throw so much food away. Anyway, if I make the soup again I will not completely puree it as I like the chunks of vegetables. The recipe only has salt as the seasonig. I would add some different herbs. I couldn’t think offhand when making it so only added thyme. I wanted to put in tarragon, but I didn’t have any. Which is odd, as it is my favorite herb. I thought it would go well with the vegetables.

A delicious dinner from the pantry!

Leave a Reply

