My Life

Throwback Thursday – 1986

As I was making the morning school run one of my favorite songs came on Sirius XM 80s on 8…When I Think of You by Janet Jackson. I love the video too. It’s really cute. The girl in pink… that is totally an outfit I would have worn back then. I actually had some similar outfits in my closet. I love pink.

In 1986, I finished my junior year of high school at Campbell County High School in Gillette, Wyoming and started my senior year at San Marcos High School in San Marcos, California. Now you know how old I am. 😦 I got my ears pierced. I went to two separate junior proms. I had my first boyfriend. A couple favorite songs:

How Will I Know by Whitney Houston

If You Leave by OMD from the movie Pretty in Pink (of course 🙂 )

I listened to a lot of Blondie (still do), Heart, Whitney Houston, and Madonna. There were several others, but that’s all I can think of at this moment.

I’m an 80s girl. I still love my big hair (which I can never seem to achieve) and my lip gloss. I still don’t love neons… except the pink. I wore a lot of pink in high school. It was my favorite color. I had this fabulous light pink jacket that I wore most every day, and of course, my pink pen. Yeah… I wanted to be a pink lady too. *embarrassing*  Who else loves pink? Lisa Vanderpump, my style icon!

269f1506e4803f431ff8cf2e9c1e3496

She is gorgeous. She wears pink like no one else! I love how she decorates her home. Anyway, back to the 80s. In 1986, I bought myself a pair of pink Reebok high-tops. They kind of looked like this:

pinkreeboks

Now you know that Reeboks were the thing back then. It was a big deal to me as my family never had much money. Since I was 11 or 12, I basically bought all my stuff.. my clothes, my personal care items, everything except food. Actually I paid for food at school and when I went out with my friends. Kids at school would actually make fun of us for how poor we were. It was a sensitive issue for me. I made money babysitting (a lot!) and working a few hours a week at Artistic Designs (a stained glass company) doing clerical work, shipping/receiving and some production. Since I only made so much babysitting, and I had no allowance to speak of, I would shop at thrift stores and Clothestime (“fashion at a discount price”). In October 1986 I started working 30+ hours a week at K-Mart and that allowed me to get a little bit more. So that’s how I was able to afford some Reeboks. I LOVED those pink Reeboks!

Leave a Reply

